Skip to content

First Contact

May 1, 2014

Wil Wheaton has a new network show coming out, and he did a blog post asking for audience participation. Record a “first contact” story…your first encounter with a celeb you really wanted to meet, with the best stories being animated and presented on the show.

Well, I don’t quite have a story that I can say is completely true…at least, my memory is a little fuzzy on the details. But here it is (with a few sidebars on what may not be up to snuff).

Around 12-14 years ago, Kevin Smith came to FanExpo, right around his run on Daredevil. I was in line waiting patiently for signatures. Suddenly, I felt a tugging on my lower pants leg. I looked down, and found myself looking at an older woman less than three feet tall. She said hi, and we started to chat.

Smith’s line was separated from the con floor by make-shift curtains, behind which were more celebs meeting fans. Many were Star Wars actors. This woman motioned to the curtain at some point and said “I’m with them”. I realized at this point that I was probably speaking to the wife of Kenny Baker (this is a point I never got clear…Warwick Davis was also there, so it could have been his wife…or just a friend or other relation of either). I was having a conversation with R2-D2’s wife (maybe). How cool is that?

It became very clear that this woman (who was nice and a great conversationalist) had never been to a con before, and was baffled by the entire experience. We ended up chatting about what was going on, cosplay, various things that happen on a con floor. My immediate impressions of her: very conservative, and not a deep fan of sci-fi. Fair play to that…it’s not for everyone, and these were first impressions of someone I’d known for five minutes.

At one point, we started talking about Kevin Smith, and she asked me to describe what he did. Given my impressions, I really didn’t want to talk about Smith’s, how shall we say, ‘unique’ brand of humor.

Karma must hate me. At that moment, everyone in the line shifted to one side just as she looked up the aisle to see Smith…who was in the middle of signing a young lady’s exposed breast. I knew, of course, that somehow I would end up getting blamed for this.

This, of course, summed up Smith’s oeuvre better than I ever could…all with a few swipes of a Sharpie.

The woman I was talking to walked back behind the curtain.

There you have it, Wil. Star Wars, comic books, boobs. What more could you possibly want?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. thereisagift permalink
    May 1, 2014 5:16 am

    Well, I was intrigued by the idea of sharing my tale of meeting Bruce Cockburn in a Kensington Market laundromat (no matter how meaningless that might be for Will Wheaton) until I read the list near the end of the post, starting with: We want to see you on camera telling the story.

    Nope, not for me, thanks. I guess I’m destined to remain in utter obscurity 🙂

    • Jeff Wyonch permalink*
      May 1, 2014 5:23 am

      I’ve also stepped on Michael Ondaatje’s foot. But I think Wil’s definition of ‘celeb’ in this case means ‘actor in sci-fi, fantasy, or horror’, considering that’s what the show’s about. Alas, no authors/musicians.

  2. thereisagift permalink
    August 20, 2014 3:17 am

    I ran into Michael Ondaajte in the Wheat Sheaf once, but I didn’t step on his foot…

Leave a Reply

