Skip to content

The Camera Collection Redux

August 15, 2010

The Camera Collection

The last time I made a post like this, I had 38 cameras. This time, I have 56. And I’ve thrown cameras away in between, and I have three unassembled pinhole cameras.

So, yeah, it’s a sickness.

Like most collections, one person’s treasure is another person’s trash, and this collection is no different. A lot of these cameras are ‘toys’. That doesn’t make them any less fun.

After a certain point, however, it becomes harder to justify new purchases. How many different models of SLR do you really need? Once you have a half-dozen cameras with almost identical specs, one floats to the top, and the rest take up space in a drawer or box. The urge to collect competes with practicality. You get the shakes in the store. You start hallucinating. It’s really ugly.

Ok, just kidding. But I try to make every purchase count towards extending my technological reach in photography, not my ‘looks really cool but I already have 10 that can take the exact same shot’ urges.

I’ve grouped them below by manufacturer. I’ve also given brief notes on a few of my favorites.

And please forgive the poor quality of the shots. I live in a basement with light fixtures thrown in random spots, and no ability to rig additional lighting. All of these had to be shot with no flash.

Canon

Canonet 28

Canon Canonet 28

This was the first ‘classic’ film camera I purchased after I started to think of photography as something I wanted to get into. I had previously purchased the Samsung and Holga 120 S, but they had been gathering dust. This is a great camera, but the G-III QL17 is the better choice.

EOS Rebel K2

Canon EOS Rebel K2

G-III QL17

Canon G-III QL17

I have two of these. It’s a sweet camera that’s been called “the poor man’s Leica.” Believe the hype.

Powershot S3 IS

Canon Powershot S3 IS

I got this a year before my Nikon D50, and the bulk of my NYC shots came from this camera.

Diana’s

Debonair

Debonair

Diana +

Diana+

Aside from the instant back, the splitzer, one lens, and a few other bits, I have the complete kit for the Diana +. I have the non-flash model. Choosing between this and the various Holga models can be a tough decision, as both groups of cameras have outstanding features.

Fuji

Instax Mini 7

Fuji Instax Mini 7

Holgas

120 CFN

Holga 120 CFN

120 S

Holga 120 S

My first Holga. I ran almost 5 rolls of film through this before I came up with any results. I bought this before Lomography even existed, based on an article that ran in Webmonkey.

135

Holga 135

35 AFX

Holga 35 AFX

One of the few Holgas with a glass lens, and the only Holga that I know of with a light meter and automatic film advance. I bought online this from Freestyle, a legendary San Francisco camera shop. I haven’t seen it for sale anywhere since.

K-200N

Holga K-200N

Kodak

Brownie 127

Kodak Brownie 127

Brownie Hawkeye Flash

Kodak Brownie Hawkeye Flash

Brownie Hawkeye

Kodak Brownie Hawkeye

I bought this to eventually convert to pinhole.

Brownie Starmite

Kodak Brownie Starmite

Duaflex IV

Kodak Duaflex IV

No. 2 Brownie Model F 120

Kodak No. 2  Brownie Model F 120

No. 2a Brownie 116

Kodak No. 2a Brownie 116

This may be another pinhole conversion. You can find Kodak box cameras all over the place, but it’s really hard to find one with both a working shutter and good viewfinders…one or the other is invariably broken.

Lomography

Action Sampler

Lomography Action Sampler

Fisheye 2

Lomography Fisheye 2

If you have to choose between the Fisheye and Fisheye 2, buy the Fisheye 2. It’s worth the extra cash.

Minolta

Hi-Matic G

Minolta Hi-Matic G

Weathermatic Dual 35

Minolta Weathermatic Dual 35

I haven’t swam in twelve years…I’m not sure when I’ll ever use this, but it was very cheap.

Minox

35 GT

Minox 35 GT

I originally had a 35 EL, but, through ignorance and impatience, managed to break it. Getting batteries for this camera is a pain and a half.

Nikon

D50

It’s hard to have a camera take a picture of itself. This has been my workhorse for many years, but it’s reached its limits. I need to start making plans to replace it with a more modern body.

Olympus

35 SP

Olympus 35 SP

OM-1

Olympus OM-1

I also have two bodies, and both have broken meters. It’s time I fished around for a new body, so I can get rid of the two malfunctioning ones.

mju-I

Olympus mju-I

Stylus Epic DIX

Olympus Stylus Epic DIX

Stylus Epic Zoom 115

Olympus Stylus Epic Zoom 115

I have a lot of Stylus Epic’s. They are great cameras. They take a long time to focus, so are not good for candid or street photography.

Trip 35

Olympus Trip 35

XA

Olympus XA

XA1

Olympus XA1

Panasonic

Lumix DMC-FS6

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS6

Pentax

K1000

Pentax K1000

Polaroid

SX-70 Alpha 1 SE

Polaroid SX-70 Alpha 1 SE

SX-70 Sonar OneStep

Polaroid SX-70 Sonar OneStep

My dad’s camera. The runners that lock the viewfinder into place are broken, and I don’t know where to go to get them repaired.

Ricoh

500 G

Ricoh 500 G

Samsung

Maxima 22 S

Samsung Maxima 22 S

My first camera. Before this, I only had disposables. It’s ok for snapshots, but not much else.

Vivitar

Ultra Wide and Slim

Vivtar Ultra Wide and Slim

Undoubtedly, the widest lens you can get for the cheapest price.

Yashica

FX-3

Yashica FX-3

GSN Electro 35

Yashica GSN Electro 35

I never got the hang of using this camera, and the battery is hard to come by. I’ll probably never use it again.

T4 Super

Yashica T4 Super

Misc.

Anny 44

Anny 44

Beirette VSN

Beirette VSN

Cortina

Cortina

Discovery Kids Camcorder

Discovery Kids Camcorder

Golden Half

Golden Half

Ikimono 110

Ikimono 110

Little Merlin Pinhole Paint Can

Little Merlin Pinhole Paint Can

Magnavox Keychain Digital Camera

Magnavox Keychain Digital Camera

Sakar 35S

Sakar 35S

Snap Sights

Snap Sights

Toyocaflex

Toyocaflex

The Future

There are still a few cameras I want, but they are pricey and will have to wait for me to clear all the debt I’ve managed to accumulate over the last decade.

Obviously, like a lot of camera junkies, I’d love both a Leica and a Hasselblad. Even used, these are big-ticket items that I don’t see myself owning for awhile, if ever.

I’ve become a little smitten with pinhole photography, and even though you can build them from cardboard boxes and pop cans, would like a professionally-made camera. I’m eyeing cameras from both Zero Image and Pinhole Blender.

I’d like a view camera, but don’t know enough about them to make a sensible purchase. I have to do a lot more research on them before I can commit cash.

If you think a Leica is expensive, you haven’t looked at panoramic cameras yet. They are insane. The Horizon may be the only one I can afford.

And, my DSLR, the Nikon D50, has grown very long in the tooth. I only have a few lenses for it, so I’m not necessarily wedded to Nikon when it comes to upgrading my body. I have a Lensbaby and 28-90mm lenses for my Canon Rebel, so I may make the switch.

That’s quite a shopping list, and none of it will happen this year. Some of it may never happen. We’ll see what the future brings.

Hope you enjoyed looking at the cameras.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 7:53 pm

    No doubt about it, dude. You are obviously and undoubtably hooked, addicted and obsessed with cameras.

    Enjoy!

  2. August 16, 2010 12:35 am

    no ever ended up in hospital for being addicted to cameras, so enjoy!

    really like your collection, especially the olympus trip 35 and yashica t4,

  3. ken permalink
    May 31, 2011 7:49 pm

    I guess its really some kind of sickness any way it was nice to find out I,m not the only one I,ve got the same addiction as you started off many years ago with 9.5 mm movies now I,m full to bursting with so many cameras,I thought I,d use them all and write a review but never get round to that its some kind of hoarding sickness,is there a remedy ?

  4. August 5, 2013 1:01 am

    Just wish to say your article is as amazing.
    The clearness on your publish is just excellent and
    that i could suppose you’re a professional on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to seize your feed to keep updated with imminent post. Thank you one million and please continue the gratifying work.

  5. Creepozoid permalink
    March 11, 2014 11:45 pm

    I have a Minolta Weathermatic Dual 35 with carrying case and waterproof film canisters. I don’t know if it works but it’s in good shape. If you or anybody out there is interested in trading, please write me.

    creepozoid007@hush.com

Trackbacks

  1. The Camera Collection « Ramblebramble's Weblog
  2. The Camera Collection Goes Away « Ramblebramble's Weblog

Leave a Reply

