Skip to content

Artist’s Welcome: Version 2.0

July 13, 2010

Toronto in a can of paint

About two years ago, I knuckled down and created a book of photos on blurb.com. It took weeks of agonizing over pictures, laying things out over and over again, writing intro copy, finding a suitably weird font, and just general nitpicking.

And it hasn’t sold one copy in two years.

Well, c’est la vie. I actually never expected it to. It was about the process, first and foremost.

Since then, my photography has slowed down, and my skills have slipped. It’s time to get back into it.

I promised myself I’d revisit the book, one last time, and do a re-master that was less embarrassing.

Introducing…

So, I’d like to introduce you all to Artist’s Welcome, 2.0. A few things have changed:

New name

The first version took it’s name from one of the photos on the cover. It’s since been cut, and I felt the book’s changed enough to warrant a new name. So, out with Artist’s Welcome and in with Toronto in a can of paint. Not any catchier, but a new name, nonetheless.

No dumb fonts

The first edition had a font that was completely unsuited to body copy. I’ve uniformly used Franklin Gothic on this one.

It’s hip to be square

In version 1.0, almost every page had a different layout…so much for any design pretensions I may once have possessed. I standardized on presenting almost all photos in square format, with some extreme crops to reveal detail. The few that needed to be rectangular are very few, and presented together.

Less is more

I had almost 120 photos in 1.0…I’ve reduced that to around 65 this time, with almost 15 new shots.

Rewrote the intro

Two years ago, I had written some pretentious new-age claptrap that didn’t even convince me. This time it’s straight to the facts, no bullshit. This is my gear. This is me.

blurb.com

I stuck with Blurb because their software is good, and has matured a lot over the last two years. You can’t do nearly as much as you can do in Quark, Scribus, or InDesign, but for photos it has mostly everything you need. Plus, Blurb’s shipping has evolved, with flat fees to most of North America, which makes it kind to Canucks.

Last chance to buy the old edition!!

Yeah, that’s shameless. So sue. I’ll be adding the new edition as a separate book to Blurb over the next couple of days. I’ll keep the old one up for a few weeks, then kill it.

What’s next

After going through my big-ass folder of what I’ve added to Flickr over the past 5 years, I found an enormous amount of black-and-white film work. I think a lot of it is really cool, at least to me, so that should be the next big thing to work on.

Other great stuff on blurb and lulu

There’s quite a bit to see:

Paul McDougall’s ABC

I know Paul from a previous job. This is his first (I believe) children’s book, and it even has an iPhone app. The book is cool. Paul is cool. Alphabets are cool. What are you waiting for?

http://www.blurb.com/bookstore/detail/1321593

Travels with a Toy Camera Portfolio 1 Cuba By Lee Frost

Lee Frost has written many photo books, and I’m working my way through his latest, 50 Photo Projects, which mentioned his lulu publishing adventure. I haven’t bought this yet, but damn, it looks good. Shot with a Holga in Cuba, this is a must for lo-fi shutterbugs everywhere.

http://www.lulu.com/product/paperback/travels-with-a-toy-camera-portfolio-1-cuba/367698

Wave Hands: Radio Stories By Ward McBurney

This is a book of radio scripts that were read by Ward on CBC Radio. They are short, quirky, and full of Canadiana. Check it out.

http://www.lulu.com/product/paperback/wave-hands-radio-stories/2513220

Thanks to all who’ve been dropping by

It’s been a wild 5 years. I may never make a cent off my photography, but the community on Flickr has been solid and kind. I’ve met a lot of interesting folk, and learned a lot, even if it often doesn’t show in my shots. Anyone who’s made a comment, faved one of my shots, added me to a gallery, or said kind words in person:

Thank you. I appreciate it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ramblebramble permalink
    August 11, 2010 2:21 pm

    Just got the book, and I love how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

